Public Safety Committee

Public Safety Committee


The Public Safety Committee was created in 1989 and has four general powers.  To prepare and recommend to the board of trustees a comprehensive plan of public safety.  Such plan shall include reasonable requirements in reference to streets, alleys and public grounds.  To prepare and recommend to the board of trustees from time to time such changes in ordinances as may be deemed necessary by the board of trustees or by the Committee in areas concerned with traffic control and public safety.  To hear and recommend to the board of trustees direction as to placement of traffic control devices.  To exercise such other powers germane to the powers granted by this section as may be conferred by the board of trustees.

Residents who seek parking restrictions changes, traffic signage changes or have other public safety concerns should contact Police Chief James Episcopo at 708 485-8131 to get on the next Public Safety Committee meeting agenda.


The Public Safety Committee consists of the Police Chief, Fire Chief and three appointed volunteers from the community.  The appointed volunteers have a three-year membership term.   Any resident interested in serving on the Public Safety Committee should send a cover letter and a resume to the Village President.   Non-voting members of the Committee are the Village Board Trustee liaison and the Public Works liaison.  The current members of the committee are:
Police Chief James Episcopo
Fire Chief Patrick Lenzi
Tim Heilenbach – Chairperson
Johnathan Burke
Sam Lodovico
Ryan Evans – Village Board liaison
Vacant – Public Works liaison


The Public Safety Committee meets at 5:30 PM on the fourth Tuesday of January, March, May, July, September and November.  The meetings are at Edward Barcal Hall, Village Hall.